Useful Links

Let me share some links that I think are quite useful.

My Yahoo!
I use it as a homepage. This lets me see all the news and updates in one glance. I simply add all the things I consider important and order them in whatever way I want. It’s also a search engine and an eMail previewer. I avoid using Google altogether. If you want, I can send you the entire page that I view to you through email. That is also handy for people that have no clue, or those who wish to build upon an example page.
Most of the below links are fed into the page I made here. But I also use Yahoo News, Discovery, Hardware/Software developers feeds here as well as all my Bookmarks, weather forecasts, Dutch news sites…blogs…whatever I find interesting, really.

BBC News
One of the better news sites on the web.

NOS, Volkskrant
Dutch (sorry !) news sites. (De Volkskrant is a Dutch newspaper, NOS handles Dutch news on public TV.)

Facebook
Social website. Most of your friends probably have it and they keep in contact with eachother through this site. People share tons of info and links through this page, so you can keep up to date with current trends.

Tweakers
This is a Dutch (sorry !) website that tracks news related to (mostly computer related) technology. It has lots of reviews, price comparison, Best-Buy-Guides, and forums about just about anything that’s related to both Hardware and Software.

Tom’s Hardware
Here are some very handy charts that allow you to compare all the latest CPU’s, GPU’s, SSD’s etc. on the market. It’s kinda like the English equivalent of Tweakers (above), although not all features are the same of course.

1Up, IGN
Websites I use to look for info on computer games. They show news, (p)reviews, forums, and anything else game-related.

iMDB
If you want to know anything about movies, actors/actresses and/or TV shows, this is where you need to go.

Mail.com
Free email address. Never had any spam on here. It also allows forwarding to your email software, which is pretty rare. There is also the option to store files there up to 2GB in total. (I have been -and still am- using Yahoo Mail since I was 12, so I’m not giving this one up. Also, Yahoo has always had more space than any other free webmail.)

Photobucket
Upload and share pictures online. Very handy if you’re a frequent poster on forums (since you can link to the image instead of uploading a copy to the forum server – they don’t like using much space for that stuff).

Scientific American
This is a magazine about all the developments made in science. (It is part of the Nature Publishing Group.) My dad has a subscription and so I used to read the magazines a lot. I grab his old copies when I can, but in the meantime I can keep up to date via their website.

MIT OpenCourseWare
M.I.T. uploads a lot of their courses onto the web. It includes Audio/Video, so you can learn a lot through this site.

Engrish
Funny attempts to translate Japanese to Engrish.

FML
Tragic short stories. Very funny to read. Makes my life a little less tragic hehe !

Wikipedia
If you want to know what things are, how they work, what they do, who people are, etc., this is where to look them up. Be sure to check the references, since anyone can update and change the data. Some information might be purposefully tampered with.

Alienware, Origin
Awesome custom built PCs and laptops. Factory overclocked shiz.

Asus, MSi, Intel, EVGA, GainwardSamsung, HP, Philips, Creative, nVidia, AMD
Some of the not-yet-mentioned hardware manufacturers that are definitely worth mentioning.

Does anyone have some must-have links that I’m not aware of ? I’d love to hear about them ! (Oh yeah…no Apple related stuff please. I´m no Apple fan.’

Leave a Reply

